Director's Message Location Functions (English) - PDF Functions (Hindi) - PDF Scientific Divisions Human Resources List of Directors List of Former Scientist "Right to Information" Manual - PDF Public Information Officers Annual Reports
Organisation Structure N.I.H. Society Governing Body Standing Committee Technical Advisory Committee Working Groups Centers for Flood Management Studies Regional Coordination Committees Research Management and Outreach Division
Research Studies Consultancy and Sponsored Projects Software Development Instruments Developed Technology Transfer Publications
Laboratories Library Computer Centre Hydrometeorological Observatory Workshop
Water Resources of India Learning Hydrology Compute Evapotranspiration Hydrology Journals E-Learning
ISO Quality Policy (English) ISO Quality Policy (Hindi) ISO Certificate

Indian National Committee on Climate Change

Indian National Committee on Climate Change (INCCC)

R&D Programme of MoWR




National Institute of Hydrology,
Roorkee-247667 Uttarakhand
Phone: 01332-249216
Fax: 01332-272123 / 273976



Sh. Nitishwar Kumar ,

Director, National Water Mission

Ministry of Water Resources River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation

Government of India, New Delhi.

Member Secretary

Dr. R. P. Pandey
Scientist G, National Institute of Hydrology, Roorkee



Constitution of Indian National Committee on Climate Change (INCCC)


Sh. Nitishwar Kumar 
Director, National Water Mission, MoWRRD & GR, New Delhi



Ms. N.R.Deshpande Sc. ‘D’
Representative of Director Indian Institute of Tropical Meterology (IITM), PUNE

Member (Permanent)


Sri Joginder Singh

National Water Mission,Mowr,RD& GR, New Delhi

Member (Permanent)


Sri Akhilesh Gupta,
Advisor , National Mission for Strategic Knowledge for Climate Change,Department of Science & Technology

Member (Permanent)


Sri S.K. Chaturvedi
Director (R&D), MoWR,PP Wing R&D Divison

Member (Permanent)


Mowr,RD& GR, New delhi

Member (Permanent)


Er. M .P .Singh,
Chief Engineer (P&D), Central Water Commission(CWC)




Dr G. C. Pati
Member (TT&WQ),Central Ground Water Board (CGWB)




Prof.Manju Mohan,
Centre for Atmospheric Sciences

Indian Institute of Technology,Delhi


(3-years Term)


Prof. S. N. Tripathi,
Dept. of civil Engineering

Indian Institute of Technology,Kanpur


(3-years Term)


Prof. P. P. Majumdar, 
Dept. of civil Engineering

IISc, Bangalore


(3-years Term)


Dr. V.Selvam,
Director of the Coastal System research Programme


(3-years Term)


Dr. R. P. Pandey, Scientist G, National Institute of Hydrology, Roorkee

Member Secretary


Note: Members at S. No. 9 to 12 will be nominated by INC for a 3 years’ term. The INC may co-opt any other expert/ official as and when considered appropriate on non-financial terms. 

Project Proposal

Subject Domain

  • Downscaling of climate change models
  • Assessment of impact of climate change on water resources.
  • Adaptation strategies for changing climate scenario.
  • Studies proposed on strategy in I.5 of National Water Mission.

Functions of the Committee

    1. To give advice to Central and State Governments and their agencies on matters related to Climate Change; to appoint expert panels to consider special problems to advice the committee.
    1. To prepare and periodically update the state of art in the country in different branches of Climate Change; to disseminate information related to Climate Change by way of publishing journals, research news/digests; to support and conduct mass awareness programmes like seminars/ conferences/ workshops; and to arrange R&D review sessions for Climate Change.
    2. To undertake studies on evolution of Climate Change and introduce perspective planning for research in Climate Change.
    3. To recommend funding for the infrastructure development of Climate Change research institutions; to recommend recognition of Centres of Excellence in Climate Change; to maintain effective cooperation with other National Committees /Boards, related GoI/State Ministries, CSIR Labs, IITs, Engineering Colleges and Polytechnics, Universities and other academic institutions.
    4. To coordinate the R&D activities in Climate Change in general and to coordinate R&D programme of the MoWR in particular; to monitor the progress made by the executing institutions on research schemes; to identify areas which need immediate attention; to avoid overlaps in the research programmes of the different institutions, to invite and encourage R&D proposals in areas where work being done is inadequate; to encourage the national institutions, voluntary, professional bodies and non commercial NGOs to take up R&D in Climate Change.
    5. To promote HRD programmes, leading to specialisation of research staff and recommend encouragement for the outstanding research personnel.
    6. To promote and coordinate effective participation of India in the international programmes related to Climate Change and to act as national committee for such international bodies where required.
    7. To encourage indigenous industry through loans to take up technological development in Climate Change.