Working Group

The Governing Body of the Institute has constituted three Working Group under the Chairmanship of the Director, NIH to consider and to recommend to TAC on the program of studies to be taken up by the various Scientific Divisions of the Institute and review the progress of work. Experts in specialized fields from various field organisations both from Central and State Governments and academic and research institutions are members of the Working Group. The members of the Working Group are drawn from various Central and State Governments’ Organisations, Universities and individual experts working in the field of hydrology and water resources. The constitutions of the Working Group as approved by 78th Governing Body are given below:

Chairman: Director, NIH, Roorkee


S.No. Address
1 Two Nominee (Director Level) CWC, New Delhi
2 Nominee of CGWB, Faridabad
3 Nominee of IMD, New Delhi
4 Nominee of CPCB, New Delhi
5 Nominee of NWDA, New Delhi
6 Nominee of Dept. of Drinking Water and Sanitation, GoI
7 Nominee of Ministry of Environment & Forest (NRCD), GoI
8 Nominee of North East Council, Shillong
9 Nominee of Ministry of Earth Sciences, GoI
10 Nominee of Ministry of Agriculture (NRM), GoI
11 Nominee of Geological Survey of India, Kolkata
12 Director, NIC , New Delhi
13 Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, Pune
14 ICAR-Indian Institute of Soil & Water Conservation, Dehradun
15 Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun
16 GBP Institute of Himalayan Env. & Dev., Almora
17 National Institute of Disaster Management, New Delhi
18 BARC, Mumbai
19 Physical Research Lab, Ahmedabad
20 CAZRI, Jodhpur
21 NEERI, Nagpur
22 Forest Research Institute, Dehradun
23 IIRS, Dehradun
24 NGRI, Hyderabad
25 ICAR-IARI, New Delhi
26 Nominee of Brahmaputra Board, Guwahati
27 Nominee of Water Resources Deptt., Karnataka
28 Nominee of State Water Investgation Directorate, West Bengal
29 Nominee of Water Resources Deptt., Odisha
30 Nominee of Water Resources Dept., M.P.
31 Nominee of Ground Water Dept., Maharashtra
32 Nominee of Water Resources Dept., Punjab
33 Nominee of Water Resources Dept., Chhattisgarh
34 Nominee of Jal Sanathan, Uttarakhand
35 Nominee of Ground Water Dept., Andhra Pradesh
36 Nominee of Ground Water Dept., Telangana
37 Gujarat Pollution Control Board, Gandhinagar
38 CWRDM, Kozikode
39 Nominee of Water Resources Dept., Rajasthan
40 Irrigation Research Institute, Roorkee
41 Dr Varun Joshi, Professor Uni. School of Environment Management Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University, New Delhi
42 Prof K K singh Prof. in Civil Engg. NIT, Kurukshetra, Haryana
43 Prof Vimal Mishra Civil Engg. Deptt., IIT Gandhinagar
44 Prof. A K Saraf Deptt. of Earth Sciences IIT, Roorkee
45 Prof M L Kansal Deptt. of Water Res. Dev. & Management IIT, Roorkee
46 Dr Bhishm Kumar Prof. Staff & Advisor (Retd.), IAEA, Roorkee
47 DR S S Grewal Director (Retd.), Reg. Station of PAU-Ludhiana Chandigarh
48 Dr Dhanya C T Assistant Professor IIT, Delhi
49 Dr Kaushal K Garg Senior Scientist-NRM ICRISAT, Hyderabad
50 Prof Ramakar Jha NIT, Patna
51 Prof A P Dimri Jawaharlal Nehru University New Delhi
52 Dr Debashish Sen Director Peoples Science Institute, Dehradun
53 Dr Sadhna Malhotra (Economist) Director, Mindspace, Dehradun
54 Sh Sudhindra Mohan Sharma Consultant, Ex-Nodal Officer National Drinking Water Security Pilot Projects MoDWS (GoI), Indore
55 Divisional Head, SWH Div. NIH
56 Divisional Head, GWH Div. NIH
57 Divisional Head, EH Div. NIH
58 Divisional Head, HI Div. NIH
59 Divisional Head, WRS Div. NIH
60 Divisional Head, RMOD Div. NIH
Member Secretary
Er Omkar Singh, Scientist G & Head (RMOD), NIH, Roorkee

Page last updated on 27.02.2023